5 counties where Ruto is giving Raila Odinga sleepless nights ahead of the 9th August polls

ODM leader Raila Odinga will make her fifth attempt for the country’s highest seat in the August 9 general election.

In 2002 Raila did not compete but supported Mwai Kibaki that he won the election.

He made other failed attempts in 2007, 2013 and 2017.

ODM leader Raila Odinga will make her fifth attempt at the country’s top spot in the August 9 general election.

The former prime minister made his first attempt at the presidency in 1997 when he faced the late Daniel Arap Moi of KANU and Mwai Kibaki (Democratic Party).

He competed under the National Development Party and finished third.

Others in the hard-fought race were Wamalwa Kijana (Ford-Kenya), Charity Ngilu, Koigi Wamwere, Wangari Maathai and many other candidates.

In 2002 Raila did not compete but supported Mwai Kibaki who won the elections. He made other failed attempts in 2007, 2013 and 2017.

This year, however, Raila is confident that his seat is his because he has the support of the incumbent president, Uhuru Kenyatta, which means he has undoubtedly solid support in the Mount Kenya region.

However, things may not go as planned due to the unwavering support in a number of counties. Those counties include;


The county has over 1 million registered voters. In 2013, Uhuru and Ruto won here with 80% of the votes while Raila managed only 17%.

The trend was the same in the canceled polls of August 2017 and Raila has to work harder to get more votes. This is because Ruto has his own percentage in 80% of the votes.

Raila, however, has the upper hand due to Rigathi Gachagua’s ruined reputation in Molo, but Ruto also has a large following in Nakuru.


Kilifi boasts 588,602 voters. This is one of the counties that fully supported ODM in the 2017 general election, with huge numbers of voters electing party members from MCA to President.

Raila got 83% of the votes cast in the August 2017 elections and Uhuru 15%.

So far, incumbent Governor Amason Kingi has dumped Raila for Ruto. Malindi parliamentarian Aisha Jumwah is also in support of the Kenyan standard-bearer Kwanza and in recent days Ruto has managed to penetrate the county thus earning a huge following


The county has a total of 844,551 voters who are expected to participate fully in the general election.

In the 2013 elections, Uhuru and Ruto managed to collect 2.6% of the votes in the county, the ODM leader was able to secure 64% of the votes while Musalia Mudavadi got 31% of the votes.

Undoubtedly, the trends must have been the same in the 2017 election, except that Mudavadi was on Raila’s side. In the voided results, Raila drove with 87% and Uhuru only got 11% of the vote.

Now that Mudavadi is on Ruto’s side, there is a high probability that those who voted for him in 2013 will still be able to support him in the upcoming elections, thus increasing Ruto’s numbers.

Ruto has also managed to bring a number of county leaders to his side, including former Senator Bony Khalwale who is reportedly leading the senator race with 64% while his ODM competitor Brian Lisheng is at 17. %.

Cleophas Malala who is also influential in the county.


According to the IEBC Register of Electors, the county has a total of 646,598 registered voters. In 2013, Raila beat Ruto and Uhuru with 52% of the county vote with the duo only getting 12% of the total votes cast while Mudavadi garnered 30% of the vote.

The presidential election results of August 2017 showed that Raila secured 68% of the vote while Uhuru got 30%.

Bungoma Senator Moses Wetang’ula supported Raila in both 2013 and 2017, and Mudavadi joined the team in 2017.

Raila should now be concerned as the two leaders who are very influential in the county have decided to support Ruto.


The county has 323,283 voters. Raila led the county in the 2013 election, but in August 2017 Raila and Ruto beat Raila.

In order to beat Raila in Nyanza, Ruto targeted Nyamira, Kisii and Migori.

Nyamira is a headache for Raila because in the last election none of the MPs and MCAs came from the ODM although the party managed to secure the seats of governor and senator.